2003-01-31 - 12:36 a.m. : Question of the Sexes
Is it a boy? Is it a girl? Do you have any idea how much this drives me wild? Some times I swear I'm having an androgynous baby. Which of course just upsets everyone. I'm still early so we can't do some of the other lil tests. But I've had morning sickness- not too crazy though. And although my nails and hair are strong and long, my skin keeps breaking out. I thought I was supposed to have great skin while pregnant! And I can't seem to shake off this sniffle. The Chinese Calendar Predicts I will have a boy. That's what J really really wants, and in a way I think he'll get it. His mom and him are rooting for a boy. But everyone else is rooting for a girl- which in my reality just jinxes that whole possibility. As for me? Ok ok yeah I want a healthy baby, ok? But deep inside I think I'm rooting for a girl. Which convinces me it's a boy. Cause that's the way life is with me. Oh and dreams? I've had them ALL! I've had little girls, little boys, and even one where I got to see Boo (baby's gestational nickname) in the stage it is now but bigger and it of course had no visible sex. Although in the whole gut instinct intuition arena, I did have a dream where I had a boy before I knew I was pregnant. Then again, my mom is pretty convinced it's a girl. And J's whole family swore up and down HE was a girl and well that's not the case. But the tables might turn this time. I'm sure the guesses and speculations will come pouring out when I get bigger. I think there are myths about if your tummy is high and wide or low and pointy. Here's an excerpt from Babycenter, one of the members.

I think if you carry high and round it's a girl and boys

are low and pointed. That's how I knew.

We'll see. I have a feeling there's gonna be like a gambling pool on this one. OOOH cool I just found this great article! I've been looking for this type of thing! OK I'm posting the whole thing here.

Boy or girl? 38 fun ways to guess your baby's sex

What could be more fun than trying to guess the sex of your baby-to-be? Everyone wants to get in the game. Don't be surprised if someone you've never met stops you at the grocery store, offering a prediction of your baby's gender. For hundreds of years, expecting moms have relied on time-tested methods of guessing their baby's sex. Even though these old wives' tales are far from foolproof, they are certainly more fun than their more reliable successors, amniocentesis and ultrasound. Enjoy guessing your baby's sex!

It's a boy if:

You didn't experience morning sickness in early pregnancy

Your baby's heart rate is less than 140 beats per minute

You are carrying the extra weight out front

Your belly looks like a basketball

Your areola have darkened considerably

You are carrying low

You are craving salty or sour foods

You are craving protein -- meats and cheese

Your feet are colder than they were before pregnancy

The hair on your legs has grown faster during pregnancy

Your hands are very dry

Your pillow faces north when you sleep

Dad-to-be is gaining weight, right along with you

Pregnancy has you looking better than ever

Your urine is a bright yellow in color

Your nose is spreading

You hang your wedding ring over your belly, it moves in circles

You are having headaches

You add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived the number is even

It's a girl if:

You had morning sickness early in pregnancy

Your baby's heart rate is at least 140 beats per minute

You are carrying the weight in your hips and rear

Your left breast is larger than your right breast

Your hair gets red highlights

You are carrying high

Your belly looks like a watermelon

You are craving sweets

You are craving fruit

You crave orange juice

You don't look quite as good as normal during pregnancy

You are moodier than usual during pregnancy

Your face breaks out more than usual

You refuse to eat the heel of a loaf of bread

Your breasts have really blossomed!

Your pillow faces south when you sleep

Your urine is a dull yellow in color

If you hang your wedding ring over your belly, it moves from side to side

If you add your age at the time of conception and the number for the month you conceived the number is odd

From what I have gone through so far, it's a girl. But it's still early and a lot of the boy ones may simply not have blossomed. And of course these are wives' tales! So we'll find out in August won't we?

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross