2004-10-07 - 1:46 a.m. : Red Velvet Cake of Mass Destruction
Hiya.
So at one in the morning I started making cake. Red Velvet Cake with Vanilla Icing. Well it doesn't have the icing on it YET but it WILL have icing on it later. I'm sleepy and I should be reading Much Ado About Nothing but... well it's just much funner to sit her typing and yawning and waiting for my cake to bake. No one to chat with online tonight. Again.
Oh I have an experience I want to share. Have you ever had a smell trigger a memory?
Every Monday and Wednesday when I walk into the stair well of the PC building to get to my very last class of the day, I get smacked with a smell. And it's not an overt direct smell. It's subtle. But the reason I'm smacked by it is because every time I first get that sniff I can just feel my mind reel. It goes into overdrive firing synapses, making connections, digging for that memory. It never finds it. And I walk up to the second floor where my class is asking myself over and over again "What is that smell? What does it remind me of?" It's so frustrating. And I always forget about it too. So every time I walk in there I'm an innocent victim. It's the most frustrating thing in the world. It's right there with having the million dollar answer on the tip of your tongue and the only thing you can do is open and close your mouth cause for the life of you, you just can't remember. It's crazy. I really do feel my brain start to BUZZ when it gets that smell. I walk up those steps so very slowly. Taking it in. Trying desperately to place it. Something from my childhood but what? WHAT? And it's a place. I think that's mostly what it is. It's a smell that I smelled in one particular place. And I must have smelled it often for it to be so embedded in there but what in god's name is it? And how is it recreated so perfectly in that one staircase?
In other news, my delicious munchkin has turned into a tornado lately. He destroys everything. And he isn't walking. Still no walking. We're coming up on 14 months and he's not even liking walking around holding our hands like he used to. He's NEVER fallen. I have no clue what's going on. The doctor told me not to worry. Things aren't of a concern until 16 months and really not until 18 months can they do anything. But it has me so bewildered. He's too busy repeating everything he hears I guess. His vocab has just leaped and bounded forward. It's amazing. He tries his hand at about four words a day give or take. I can't believe how fast he's growing. I can't believe it. This is my baby. My pea. My boo. And now, he's just this skinny little tornado parrot. But such a beautiful tornado parrot.
0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross