2004-11-02 - 2:09 a.m. : Bikini? Or Coat? Bikini? Coat?
Hi darlings. Well tomorrow's the big day. The day I've been waiting for for months now. Tomorrow is... ELECTION DAY! Hopefully tomorrow we shall see a new president come into office. BTW, I know I'm pretty vocal on here on my hatred, oops I mean feelings, towards Bush but you must believe me I'm very polite during political talk. Mostly, I don't get involved. I don't like it. Mostly because I realize no one's changing their mind- especially this late in the game. And yes I could preach in case there happens to be an undecided voter in the room but something tells me the inevitable heated political argument would just turn them off to the message. So I stay quiet. Although I couldn't help myself from blurting out a "WHAT!??!" to my father saying yadda yadda yadda "Bush is flexible." At that point J got up and walked out of the room. I just sputtered. I mean ok you can go ahead and praise whatever Bush qualities you can dig up but for the love of god don't call the man flexible. So anyways I just shut up again and told my dad I didn't want to talk about it, that I didn't like this topic of conversation, and my uncle got him to drop it with me.
Have I mentioned I come from an ultra-conservative family? Yeah. It's loads of fun.
Now as excited as I am about tomorrow, I have got to tell you that I am nauseated by political ads. No joke, ever since the Dolphins game ended and the programming went to local programming, i would say every 3 out of the 4 commericals that airs between breaks have been political. I'm losing my mind. This is when living in Florida sucks. Oh Nightline did a great piece on the electoral college btw. It was really neat and explained the process and its faults. Yes that's right I'm against the electoral college too. I understand how it made sense way back when but we've come a lot of way and I don't think the electoral college is meant to still stand. I wonder when it will finally come crashing down. There was this really interesting segment where they talked about how defenders of the EC say that if it weren't for the EC then the rural areas would be completely neglected and only big cities would be hit up. Well it then pointed out that as it is right now, really the candidates are only focusing on about 6 "battleground states." Tis true. I always admire a good point.
So tomorrow you will most probably find me venting here on the lines to vote but that's all I can guarantee. I'll either be celebrating and doing the happy dance or I'll be PISSED as hell and planning a temporary (4 year) move to Canada. Something tells me Kerry won this election. But then this horrible feeling gnaws at me and the 2000 election replays in my head and then I get all down in a funk. I can't wait for it to be over. So I can just deal. And either buy more bikinis or save up for a really fabulous coat.
And by the way...
GO VOTE! Even if you have to stand in line for four hours on hot coals... GO VOTE! And when some $#%&@* tries to challenge you on your voting qualifications flip em off and... GO VOTE! No matter what happens tomorrow... GO FUCKING VOTE DAMMIT! Or P. Diddy will kill you.
0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross