2004-12-01 - 4:27 a.m. : Look Ma! No Husband!
Today, I actually made some attempts at feeling better about myself. It all started at 9:30 this morning with a knock on my door. Now yes, I did indeed get into my bed at around 4ish (I love how much that sounds like whorish) and I probably fell asleep close to 4:30. At 9:30 there's a knock on my door.
"Are you fucking serious?" I think as I look at the clock, squinting my eyes really really hard. I suddenly realized it might be DHL delivering some gifts and I hate missing deliveries because it's always so annoying to reschedule and that mess. So I flew out of bed, grabbed a robe, and ran for the door. I have met many many many many delivery men this way. It never seems to faze them- then again, I can't SEE so maybe I just don't see the shock in their faces. Anyhow, I swing open the door and there's no one there. No sounds of fading footsteps. No sounds of a rumbling delivery truck. Ok... "Hello?" I say. Nothing. I look at my door for the missed delivery sticky- nothing. I peer at the floor for a left behind package- nothing. I peer around the corner of the door for a larger left behind package-- nothing. Went back inside, disrobed, and climbed into bed. And I lay there, waiting for what could only have been the delivery man to return and put a sticky on my door telling me I missed the delivery. It never came. Instead, my cell phone rang at about 9:40. I have certain phone numbers to ring in particular ways so I know when specific people are calling me. The ring was my boss' ring. This is extraordinary because as a rule of thumb he is never ever ready before 10. It must be important. So I got up and called him, confessed to being half asleep when he called, and proceeded to jot down the notes for a proposal I was to email. So that was it. I was awake for the day. I e-mailed the proposal, I took a SHOWER (I never ever shower in the morning), I made coffee, and I woke up and gave Mario his breakfast. I left my house at 11:45 (ugh 15 minutes later than planned dammit) and got to my 12:30 class at about 12:50. Damn traffic.
So anyhow, I went to both my classes today. I did! And I tied up some loose ends at the financial aid and graduation offices. I then went ahead and picked up some presents for M, picked him up, went home, made him dinner, made me dinner, bathed him, and waited for my husband to come home. The reason I was alone tonight was that today was the last day of the month and for sales people that is a very big deal. My husband is in sales. So they waited for final numbers and all that. He was the top salesman in two categories and only lost the third by a disappointing $50. He was, however, ecstatic and he and the rest of the team went out for a beer and some junk.
So anyways, I felt good I did stuff all by myself. I know it sounds retarded but well it just made me feel good. I'm exhausted though. The laundry in the dryer just buzzed. I'm folding that and going to bed. Looks like I'll be hitting the hay closer to 5 this time. That blows.
0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross