2004-12-04 - 2:28 a.m. : The Adventures of... THE NAIL HUNTER!
DAMMIT!

With flashlight in one hand and baby nail clippers in the other, I quietly pushed open M's door. I stood there and calmly made sure there was no movement. I brought the flashlight around to search for the targets. Drat they were clutching his "bankie" close to his face. No matter, I tried this way and that but he began to shudder and twitch. I blocked the flashlight with the palm of my hand and stood perfectly still as he settled into a new position yes! Targets exposed! I reached in again but NO! He flipped onto his stomach. Oh! Look! A little fist! HA! Snip! One nail! Snip! Two nails! YES! Snip! Three nails! "Crikey! That's a huuuuuuuuuge nail!" Snip! Four nails! Just one left... where's that thumb? ah yes...
SHIT.
He fluttered. He flipped. He lifted his shirt and scratched his belly. And his hand came down to his side perfectly exposed. I waited for him to clutch his blanket. The flashlight was covered again. I stood perfectly still. He won't see me if I don't move, right? I waited for the clutching and the pulling of the blanket to stop. I brought the flashlight back to his hands and saw him looking right at me. He blinked. SHIT! I covered the light again. *Blink, blink* ABORT! MISSION ABORT! I sidestepped once, *sniffle*, twice *sniffle sniffle half cry* and bolted. *half cry, half cry, SILENCE*
The Nail Hunter has been foiled again.

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross