2005-01-06 - 2:28 a.m. : Bye bye 2004- I'm sad to see you go
You know how at the end of every year they do all these best of 2004 things or worst of 2004 or 2004 in review? I know it's a little tiny bit late but I think I might attempt something like that here tonight. The reason for this is because so many people I have talked to are so glad that 2004 is over and that 2005 is here. I seem to be the rare case who does not agree. The people who know me well are thinking, "Oh there goes Lavanotes always going against the flow." But I think I can make a pretty good case for why 2004 was pretty excellent for me. So here we go. A brief look back at 2004.

In January, I married J. The wedding was a blast. It was fun, it was pretty, and I really truly enjoyed it. It was really pretty and I love looking at pictures from then. M was also baptized that day but I'm not exactly religious so that doesn't really mean much for me except that he looked like an absolute doll in his Christening gown which was the one I wore as did my brothers and my two young cousins. At the wedding, J also talked to my uncle who proposed that J should come work with him. This caused us a lot of stress but it was the best thing that could have happened to us. J was unemployed at that time and somehow we were getting by on my ridiculous pay from the printing. J loves his job. He started working for him the very next week we returned from our honeymoon and it was awesome. Speaking of honeymoons, we went to Buenos Aires in Argentina and had an amazing time. We lived like kings and queens for just a little under a week. I can't wait to go back there again.
Now I can't remember exactly when or anything but it must have been in around February or March. We had gotten word that our apartment complex had been sold to a management company. They in turn informed us they were turning the apartments to condominiums and we would have the choice to buy our apartment or renew our lease for one more year. They wanted ridiculous prices for the units and we were in no shape to buy so we renewed our lease with the intention of staying there as long as we needed to find something we really loved. But then, things started getting really bad. The new association started doing rennovations and ucky things turned up like termites. The termites were disgusting. I'd find their wings all over my kitchen and the digested wood. It was horrible. I had to constantly clean and clean and clean and still nothing. The last straw was the day we heard "something" under our bath tub. Some creature got under our bath tub and that happened on about two or three separate occasions. It was absolutely disgusting. We were desparate to get out and by chance I saw an ad for what seemed to me an excellent deal. And so I called and it was still available and we went to see it the next day and we took it that very day. We moved into the new place in May or June. We have been here ever since and we adore it.
It was also in the spring of 2004 that hell broke loose at scrapbook.com. Ok now, yes I scrap. I love scrapping. And I had been an active member of scrapbook.com. I shared layouts and posted often on the boards. It was a great place to talk to others who loved this hobby that was always unfolding something new. I of course formed friendships there as well. Hell broke loose over freedom of speech issues and religious ideals. The girls over there do not take kindly to those who are not fans of the Christian faith and boy did things get fired up over there. I was banned from the site. It was never specifically explained to me why they did so but it happened shortly after I answered several questions about Wicca. They swore it had nothing to do with my religious ideals but refused to offer me the specific posts they deemed against their policies. They then recanted and said they could not unban my ID but would allow me to re-register. Thanks, but no thanks. Scrapbook.com went on a banning bonanza and it was during this I formed solid friendships with a group of about 15 girls who were all banned or chastized over this whole huge frenzy. We now have a private forum and are either lovingly or despicably (depends on who you're talking to) referred to as the meepers. I love the meepers. Those girls have been there through this whole year with me. They're really sweet girls and they don't take crap from people. I adore them.
In July, my parents celebrated their 25th wedding anniversary. I planned the party and it was so much fun. My parents are my role models as far as marriage is concerned.
In August, M turned one. We had a little get together at my apartment on his actual birthday and then a huge shinding at a local park. It was so much fun. I turned 24 which really bummed me out. But I did get a digital camera. :) And then, I started school full time again for the first time in over a year? In doing so, I also discovered (thanks to the amazing K) that I was eligible for all types of financial aid. It was also at this point I quit my job at the printing.
In late September, I met R2. And I found the job of my dreams. I've been working with r2 since the first week of October and am the happiest working person ever. The job fit in so well with my school and my life and the additional income was something we simply were not counting on. For the first time ever, we started getting close to something that resembled financial stability. J also turned 25 this month and I was able to take him on a vacation to Key West for his birthday. It was just the two of us. We were supposed to stay in south beach but a hurricane changed our plans. And we are so happy it did. It was an excellent time and really needed.
In October, my best friends K and O got married. I planned their wedding and it was an amazing time for everyone.
In November, J bought a car. This sounds minor, but you have to understand how huge this was. It was freedom for us. And a great sign we were finally getting on our feet.
And then came December which brought my younger brother graduating from college. And it was followed by one of the best Christmases I've had in years.
So you see, 2004 was awesome. I love 2004. I think it will be pretty hard to top 2004. But I'll try. But if I can just come close then I'll be happy.

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross