2005-05-31 - 2:31 p.m. : Memorial Day Weekend 2005
SO blegh.

I had a really fun Memorial Day Weekend- except yesterday. Yesterday sucked in the most awful way. But let's not jump the gun. First of all, it was a double whammy birthday weekend. On Saturday, it was Z's 25th birthday. So, we got my MIL to take M for the night. So I made her the coolest cake ever out of mini cupcakes, bought her a bottle of champagne, Star Wars Trivial Pursuit, Darth Tater, and made her a jewelry box like she wanted. I also made some mean fondue and we ordered sushi for takeout. Here is the evening, somewhat, in pictures. I am not good at taking pictures when I'm the hostess of the evening.


The totally amazing cake. I made each and every one of those cupcakes!


Birthday girl being serenaded glass of champagne in hand.


Make a wish!


My little brother and I. Yes, I'm a classy broad.


This picture has a story to it. So Z loves board games and she loves star wars. So I bought her the new Star Wars Trivial Pursuit. We split in two teams- girls vs. boys, and played. Now, it was a very intense and heated game UNTIL I brought out my brand new pipe and we broke her in good. Then the game was a blast. This picture is of Z, myself, and K deliberating over a question. Well, they're deliberating. I'm just taking it all in cuddling my bottle.

So THAT was Saturday. Next day, Sunday. S's bday. No babysitter this time so the party was at my house again so we could just put M to bed when it was time and continue the festivities. So S has really bizarre food cravings and instead of making her a cool cake we made some of her favorites which for the record include- chocolate and cheese, bacon wrapped pineapple, hooters wings, and caprese salad (tomato, fresh mozarella, olive oil, balsamic, and fresh basil). She also wanted a birthday cake from a specific bakery. We had more people over this time and so it was a packed house. Once again I made some killer drinks, although I personally think Sunday's were better than Saturday's as I made frozen cosmos and they were a hit. Once the children were asleep, M and A (JM's little girl), I also broke out the pipe again. The boys were playing Halo and us girls settled down for a game of Scattergories. It was a very fun, very chill night. And here it is in pictures. I have many more this time.


S opening her bday presents with M.


K, S, and myself. S doesn't drink alcohol so instead of champagne, we put her favorite drink lime gatorade, in the ice bucket and served it in a champagne glass for her.


This is another photo that needs a preface. There is a LONG running joke that S smells bad. She doesn't and I don't know how the joke started but it doesn't let up. Everyone is on it. One of our friends got her all this smell stuff and made her an air freshener belt and bought her some "designer earrings". Now SHE is a classy broad.


CAKE!


Make a wish!


S and her man, R


S and JM's little girl, A. She LOVES M and I think M loves her too ;)


M devouring cake.


K laughing her ASS off. Please note the difference in color between her forehead and her hand. Yes, she's high.


K getting a massage from JM. Her calves were in pain and he's a massage therapist. Oh yeah and he's an ex flame of mine.

So that was Sunday. And then came Monday. And that was the day that was just AWFUL. Why? Because I woke up sick as hell. I actually thought that maybe I had food poisoning but now that I'm finding out K was sick and M's had diarreah twice- last night and today, I'm thinking it's a virus. I was bed-ridden all day yesterday. And THEN at 3 in the morning M woke up screaming and crying and did not fall asleep until well after 6. This morning my stomach feels kinda hard inside and uncomfortable but it's not nearly as bad as yesterday. Yesterday was AWFUL. So there you go. Memorial Day Weekend 2005. Good times.

2 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross