2005-07-11 - 3:06 a.m. : From the outside
Dear Diary,
This is one of those instances where I really am in need of this thing- this private little sounding board. Because what's on my mind is something I really just cannot discuss with anyone I know and those I technically could discuss it with wouldn't really care and wouldn't really be able to help me anyways.
I am really worried about a friend of mine. Well, two friends of mine. They've been in a serious relationship for a very long time (I won't specify what level of seriousness because if someone we know should chance upon it, I don't want them piecing the puzzle together very quickly). The thing is that for the past year or so the female half has really been prone to crushes. I can think of three off the top of my head. And when I say crush, I mean crush. Each guy has been the same way- she talks to them all the time, kids with them all the time, invites them out all the time, etc. She is very transparent- it's pretty obvious if you want it to be, you know? I say if you want it to be because I have a feeling the male half is completely and totally clueless and I can't understand how except that he must really want to believe that these relationships are just good friendships. It's hard having the position that I do because I really truly care about both halves very very much. The guy is and has been like a brother to me and the girl is one of my very best friends. So it's like I'm torn up. I want to be there for my friend because I know that this is tearing at her. I know it is. I guess it's just that I've always had faith in their relationship and lately... she just seems completely and totally miserable and that makes me so sad. I want to grab him and shake him and scream at him, "Don't you see what's going on!?!?!" Because, I have to be brutally honest, he's really the main reason for this I think. He just isn't satisfying her needs and no I'm talking sex you pervs. He just isn't making her happy; he's not even... trying. You know we talk about ruts and moving in and out and with them- it's like they are a rut and it's so sad because when you know them as long as I do, you just know it doesn't have to be that way. Doesn't that ever happen to you? I know it happens to me. I'll catch myself being a gloom cookie and realize there is absolutely no reason for it. None. I mean sure things could be different that would cheer me up but really the main reason for the grey skies is myself. And so I have to force myself to turn it around, you know? It's like that with them. They seem to be at that point where it's so clear they've become such a rut that they have a lot of work to fix it- to get it moving again. I hope they do. I really really really hope they do.
1 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross