2005-09-27 - 12:40 p.m. : I want to be a part of it
I have returned. I'm sitting here trying to organize my thoughts because it has been seven days since my last confession. And a lot of things, although quite mundane, do happen in seven days.

J turned 26 last Wednesday. I got him a White Chocolate Chunk Macadamia Cheesecake from the Cheesecake factory and lots of food to munch on. It was nice. I made him a birthday card and reserved his Xbox 360 and we'll be going shopping for some pants for him soon enough.

I left for New York the next morning. I've been in NYC three times including this trip and this was, in a way, my favorite. Since I went with r2 I got to see lots of things I wouldn't normally see or even think about seeing so that was really a lot of fun. Mostly those things involved astronomically priced designer goods. I met up with a friend of mine in the village. Saturday night was the concert and it was fantastic. I really love this client that hired us. They're young, hip, and have the money to spend on really good stuff. We actually had a lot of celebrities in our green room which I was not expecting. Here's a quick list: Travis Barker, Fat Joe, Kanye West, Lebron James, Lil John, Nick Cannon, TI, Paul Wall, Slim Thug, Young Jeezy, and Faith Evans. There were others but I can't remember everyone. It was a very hip-hop oriented show.
The hotel, the W, was really nice and modern and hip. Also small, but they say that's typical New York style.
Sunday I went with r2 to SoHo and then met J's family in the theater district. It went well, which is good, because I expected a disaster.
On Monday, I did some last minute shopping on 5th Avenue including the most adorable Burberry shirt for M. Yes it cost way more than I should have paid for a two year old but it's his first designer piece. I hopped into St. Patrick's because I just adore those old cathedrals and it was really pretty. I also picked up some of those Godiva Platinum Collection chocolates. R2 then treated us to massages and manicures and then we flew to the airport and came back home.
My FAVORITE store was KidRobot in SoHo. It's a tiny little store but so many beautiful quirky goodies!
It was neat, NYC. Like I said, I love it as a visit. So neat and fun and endless things to do and see. But I couldn't live there. You walk out of your hotel room and your blood pressure rises a bit. It just FEELS stressful out there.

FYI, as of right now Mexico is a no go.

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross