2003-02-17 - 11:30 p.m. : Diarist Awards
Every once in a while, I really question my skills as a writer. I don't think of myself as a writer in the way that I see myself who writes for a living- because I don't. AND to be honest, I am not sure I would want to do such a thing. Maybe if I was free to choose what I wrote and how I wrote it, etc. What brought this on? What happened to reflecting on babies and marriage? Well, I stumbled across these Diary entry awards. And I read them all. Because I like to share my opinion and I really do like to read good stuff. Some of my favorite diaries were ignored. And I honestly believe I have read better than some of the stuff I found on there. But nominating a great entry must not be an easy thing to do. Especially when you read lots and lots of entries all the time.

ARGH! Fetus is pressing on bladder (bathroom break)

(back from bathroom break)

Anyhow, one thing I was really grateful for was the absence of cutting and suicidal thoughts entries in the dramatic section. I was really worried people would think to glorify such entries and honor them with a nomination. They didn't though, and I am really happy about that.

I had so many ideas in my head about what to write, and now I'm all evaporated. That's my main problem with this journal- I just can't seem to focus on a single topic. Instead, I end up all over the place. Well, now I've completely worked myself off the path I was on and I think I'll just go ahead and visit Bringing Up Ben. Oh but first, I'd like to mention who I voted for in the awards because why the heck not?

Best Comedic Entry

Cat Peed on Me from Velcrometer

Best Dramatic Entry

Nov. 6, 2002 from Writeright

Best Romantic Entry

Death of a Ringling Brothers Souvenir Flashlight from Sour Bob

Best Guest Entry

Dumber than a Box of Rocks from Weetabix

Best Rant

Little Miss Racist from Pamie

Best Account of a Public or News Event

Monsters from Marn's Big Adventure

Outstanding Entry

Daddy from Earthmovers and Sandcastles

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross