2005-02-11 - 1:03 a.m. : Misty Music Mayhem
I'm sitting in this musical fog. But it's a nice fog, a mist maybe. It's delicious. I'm just sitting here letting these really beautiful songs was over me. I haven't heard some of these songs in a long time. These are songs that wrench my heart in a good way. One of them brings back this insane memory of being on ecstasy. The thing about the song though is that listening to it makes me go through something like being on ectasy without the loss of control of course. Well complete control. But it's the kind of song that reaches out, grabs me, and yanks me into it and hurls me up and down and around and inside out. Oh man it just came on again. It's so weird. My heart races a little bit when it comes on. And it's not because of the ectasy ok? I don't think it is LOL. That was a long time ago.
"I know how you feel. I'm feeling it too."
-BT "remember"

It's just funny because reading HMG's diary entry about music's effect on her- I understand that perfectly. But music is such a weird thing. It's so fickle isn't it? I mean these songs I'm listening to that just PULL me, I know there are people who would hear it and not think much of it. I know there are people who (oh dread) would even not like the song at all. And it's almost like I take it personally. How can you NOT like this song? It's AWESOME. But one thing is for sure, most people are affected by music of one sort or another.
This whole fixation with music, it came up because some of my internet hoodlums and I are going to swap CDs. We're each making an album of some of our favorite songs and we're going to burn enough copies for everyone and swap with each other. Because I believe music really gives you a good idea about a person. And the funny thing is so many people have like different music for different things, you know? Like they have their music to be all active and hyper to. Music to dance to. Music to chill to. Music to ravish each other to. I love music but there's so much of it. When you sit down with a person and you discuss music it's just so hard to communicate. Half the times you don't know each other's songs. And you always draw a blank right? When someone asks you about your favorite music? And you always forget someone. ALWAYS. The music I'm listening to right now is music that sparks my creativity. A lot of people would say it's music to chill to. But it's not. It's music that relaxes me enough to open my brain up but it also has songs in there to get me going, to keep me from being pulled asunder.
Music is everywhere. Today has been a musical day for me. We are getting the music swap going and then I went to listen to a gospel choir with r2 for an event. And if there's anyone just as obsessed with music as I am, it's r2. My god. Music is everything. It's all over him. So we listened to songs for the choir. And then we heard the choir sing. And then we heard songs we could use for when people walked into the event. And then we just heard random songs. He just kept flipping through his ipod playing this and that and this. We were belting out to Toni Braxton and laughing at Michael Jackson.
Right now the list of music I have for the music swap is 17 songs. I think it's too long. And I'm missing a couple really great must-haves. Right now my playlist has songs from Bjork, BT, Daft Punk, Fatboy Slim, Marvin Gaye, Mono, Patsy Cline, Sneaker Pimps, Mazzy Star, Dido, Hooverphonic, Incubus, Moby, Orbital, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Telepopmusiek, and Tori Amos. It's missing Erykah Badu and Portishead. So now I have to sit here and pass judgement on my playlist and remove the inferior songs. That's so hard to do!
Ok well I think I'm going to back to just sitting with my musical mist. Such a pretty mist.
0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross