2005-04-27 - 1:50 a.m. : Champagne falls from the ceilings
I'm breathing again.

My spring semester is 98% over with. The only thing left is a paper I have to bring to my professor tomorrow at 3. Half of it is written in my notebook and the other half is tumbling in my brain. Because of his final though my right arm is in a lot of pain- three hours, all essay questions with the exception of 15 matching questions. Towards the end, the pain in my hand and arm was actually distracting me from my thoughts. My hand was red and shaking and swelling. Because you see, this is not a nice languid stretch of three hours' worth of writing. This is three hours of writing with your pen clutched tightly in your hand and you're writing incredibly fast. The amazing thing about his finals is that you actually need all three hours to do it properly. You actually need more time than that but my arm just won't let me do it. And the funny thing is that everyone who takes his class the first time, they never use up all three hours. It's the veterans of this professor that stay for the whole three hours. The newbies hardly ever do as well as the vets.
Something funny happened to me during that final. I realized it would be my last final with him and so I just relaxed and let loose and went with it. I've never written as much as I wrote for him today. And now I'm writing this paper and I'm actually enjoying this paper. Do you see what happens when the stress is removed from the situation?? I actually really want to continue writing my paper but my arm really can't take it and it's become this weird habit to handwrite my paper before typing it out. I never did that until just a couple semesters ago. In case you're wondering, my paper is on Positive and Negative examples of Love in Spenser's Faerie Queen, as seen in books one and two. I think maybe the topic might be a little too expanisve but I don't care. I'm having such a fun time with it. I am exhausted though. Really thoroughly exhausted. I have a couple weeks off before my modern dance 2 class, my second to last class ever, starts again. And tomorrow, I'm going to the graduation office and submitting an application for graduation. Yes indeed. This here woman is finally getting her Bachelor of Arts in English.
Spread the word: The weekend of my graduation I want to drink nothing but champagne.

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross