2005-11-03 - 1:16 p.m. : Prickly Pear
prick�ly (prkl)
adj. prick�li�er, prick�li�est
Having prickles.
Marked by prickling or tingling or smarting: a prickly sensation in my foot.
Causing trouble or vexation; thorny: a prickly situation.
Bristling or irritable: �In consequence, he became rebarbative, prickly, spiteful� (Robert Craft).

If I was a cat, I'm pretty sure the hairs on the scruff of my neck would be raised and I'd be sitting in a corner hissing at anything, even dust particles, that came within an eight foot radius of me. I am impatient and irritable. Hooray hormones.

I have finally gotten my appointment at the OB/GYN for next Tuesday, November 8 at 3:00 PM. And yesterday we got the call that we have been prequalified for a mortgage of the amount we wanted. So now, we need a house and we're pretty sure we want an agent because of just how wild everything here is. I'm letting J choose the agent. I'm not fond of salespeople. Just tell me where to go and let me look and I'll tell you if I like it or not. It's quite simple.

I am absolutely dreading this process let me tell you. When it comes down to really big life moments, I turn into quite the pessimist. It's my defense mechanism and it works nicely. This becomes a problem when the significant other half of the relationship is the complete opposite. I've learned to shut my mouth and only say yay or nay. Hooray feminism. We'll see what happens when he falls in love with something I despise and/or vice versa.

I'm sleeping quite hideously especially early in the mornings. I start waking up very, very early and I get plagued by these really psychotic dreams. Last night/this morning was plagued with really violent dreams- I was being slashed at with a knife in one of them by this girl who thought I was her and she wanted to kill herself...? Lots of death, violence, gore. Stress never shows itself prettily in dreams does it? I scolded my brain for coming up with such hideous stuff as a coping mechanism. I'd prefer an imaginary vacation to Fiji with Pharrell please, thanks.

I'm nine weeks pregnant today. That floors me. Last night I was in the bathroom getting ready to go to bed and it just SMASHED INTO MY BRAIN LIKE A TRAIN WRECK. Wow I'm pregnant. We're having a baby! And I got all giddy and excited and girly and lay in bed so happy. When I was a lot younger, I went through some really dark times. Honestly, the worst years of my young life were when I was 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15. I was such a lost and unhappy person. Taunted a lot and confused. There just never seemed to be adequate support or something. And those years, I just remember so clearly thinking that things would never get better. And then when I got out of high school, my life went from being dark and dismal to completely chaotic. I was young and wanting to do all the young free-spirited things and it was this wild dramatic rush of things that even though often led to quite stressful moments and angry moments-- it was really a wild ride. And during those years, I was quite convinced I would never be stable. I was a rollercoaster girl, not a ferris wheel. So you have to understand how truly surprising it is to me to find myself where I am today- quite normal especially compared to other periods of my life. Ok so I'm a little weird and I have weird taste in some things and my tastes are all over the place but my life? It's so normal and it only keeps normalizing further. I'm married and I have a kid and we're expecting another that we planned and now, the true mark of normalcy to the outside world, we're looking to buy something. A piece of property that will be ours. It's not going to be a big property, but it will be something and that is so exciting. And weird. For me.

1 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross