2004-10-21 - 2:38 a.m. : Help yourself
Since when did Kinko's become a do-it-yourself place? So I go in today with a nicely typed up fresh sheet.
"Hi I need forty copies of this on a colored paper and laminated."
"Sure; will you be coming back for them?"
"Well I need them in a hurry."
"Right this way."
Right this way? Is there a special VIP express area at Kinko's that I was being led to?
"You can go ahead and pick the color you want from this rack right here. I suggest you just grab a huge stack of the one you decide on. These copiers over here default to tray 3 and those over there to tray 6. I recommend the tray 3 ones cause they just slide out. You'll need a credit card or you can get a kinko's card and put money on it."
"I only have cash."
"Right this way please."
What the hell is going on????
"Ok here you just go ahead and press this button like this. Now you take this card and put it in here. Ok it's ready for your money now."
"Oh um oh ok."
I take out a ten dollar bill and slide it into the machine. He then presses a button and out comes the kinko's card.
"When you're done copying, this here is our laminating section. You just take this pouch right here, open it, put your sheet in, insert it in this cardboard folder and just push it in right here. When it stops moving just pull it out and let it dry."

I have to laminate these things myself? Are you serious? I can understand making simple black copies myself. I can even understand putting in the pretty colored paper. I can understand charging my kinko's card up with cash. But laminating?

Well that's what I did. I laminated 40 sheets of ten business card sized invitation/tickets. And then I cut them. All 400 of them.

And then I went to Walmart in search of stickers. And searched. And searched. And searched. And got creative and found a solution albeit not perfect but close.

And somewhere in the middle of that it occurred to me I still had not written the paper that was late on Tuesday and is now due tomorrow. And it also occurred to me I hadn't studied for the midterm for that very class. And then it dawned on me how so very sleepy I was. And then I realized tomorrow I would probably find myself operating on another 3 or 4 hours of asleep. And then I realized I have two events tomorrow although I'm not really working one. And finally I realized I haven't taken a bath all day today. And that's when I almost started to cry.

You know you're tired and stressed when a shopping trip to Forever 21 is more a nightmare than anything else really. I can't wait till Saturday night. I think I just might be able to sleep in on Sunday.

I smell.

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross