2002-11-11 - 2:08 p.m. : Holiday
This is why I stress. Last night I jumped up from my comfy spot on my boyfriend's bed knocking my copy of Vogue to the ground. "How could I be so stupid? Dammit! Why do I always do this crap?" I screamed while smacking my forehead with my hand. My boyfriend jsut gazed at me from his comfy spot at the computer chair.

"What is your problem?" he asked. Rightfully so.

"I have a paper due tomorrow! And I forgot all about it again! Dammit!"

"How many pages?" he inquired.

"I dunno," I shrugged. "Five? Seven? Nothing major. Oh wait my class isn't until five tomorrow. So I'll just write it at work."

"Uh, we don't have school tomorrow, it's Veteran's Day."

"What? We totally have scool tomorrow! FIU is bizarro when it comes to Holidays. We're not off till Thanksgiving."

"Are you sure?"

"Yeah I'm sure. I better go cause getting up tomorrow's gonna be a bitch if I stay up late tonight."

So I got home, got on the computer and stayed up until about 4 in the morning. I'm a good student, really. I took my time waking up and went through the motions and then I realized my youngest brother and my mother were home. "They have the day off? I should have the day off too! It's not fair! I hate going to college!" I thought to myself quite grumpily. I dug through my clothes, dug out my school bag, dug out my agenda and flipped through to November 11. There was nothing marked. "Ha! I was right! Dammit I gotta get to work so I can write my paper." In an unprecedented move of thoroughness, I flipped to the academic calendar doubting my sanity.I skimmed down and lo and behold November 11 was noted down. As being Veteran's Day. A university holiday. I was in disbelief so I flipped to the syllabus of today's class. There was no November 11th. It was skipped over between the class for November 4th and Novemeber 18th. I cheered and celebrated on a delicious breakfast of Oreos and milk.

0 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross