2005-09-08 - 10:09 p.m. : The entry that almost got away
I remember. I think I shoved it, the missing entry, out of my head because it was a political one and I try and avoid politics for some reason.

But then, I read something by Taylor and it just hit me. Taylor, if you still read this know that I swear you remind me of me so very much some times. This is one of them.

Ok, here is the bone that I must pick. When Kanye West lost it on the fundraising event, the statement that really threw everyone was his last, "George Bush doesn't care about black people." And a lot of people got really upset about that line. And I didn't. And I will tell you why I didn't. Maybe Kanye and I, and the thousands of people out there who feel this way, are completely wrong about George Bush. But the fact is, every single thing he has done and continues to do, as well as all the things he did/does not do, make us feel like he cares only about a very small group of people. And that group most certainly does not include me. And Kanye feels it does not include him either. I really think the thing that frightens most anti-Bush people is the cold feeling they get from Bush. If you didn't vote for him (and we all know A LOT of people did NOT vote for him) he just doesn't care about you. And you know, even some people who voted for him, I think, are in the same predicament as we are. I am a hispanic woman. I work for a gay man. I am married to a dark-skinned hispanic. We had a child out of wedlock. And the only system of beliefs I feel truly comfortable with is Wicca. W? Doesn't care about me. He doesn't. Don't try and argue he does. He doesn't. I accept it. I don't care.

However.

George Bush DOES care about some people. And if you voted for him, you very well might be one of those lucky people he cares about. Now, when you vote for anyone in any circumstances, it is a vote of confidence. It is a vote saying that you believe this man will do the job best of all. It does not mean that you are pledging a blind loyalty to this person and will follow him wherever he may lead. You have voted for a President, not a Pope. As far as what I have learned through my many years of education, there are two people who are never wrong- Jesus Christ and, according to Catholics (which is how I was raised) the Pope. Presidents of the United States? They screw up. And it's ok. It happens. Bill Clinton wasn't perfect. No president ever is. The thing is, and this is the important part ok? The thing is, when you vote for someone, you show them you are confident in them. And that means that you have every right to see they messed up and to let them know. You voted for Bush? Fine. You think he's a great guy? Ok! But please, do not sit here and tell me he is perfect. And please, do not tell me the disaster that is our Gulf Coast, was handled to the best of our abilities. The President himself has said the way things started was "Unacceptable." You have to write to him. You have to tell him, "Mr. President, I agree. It was unacceptable and I'm disappointed in you." If he cares about you, and you are his constituents so he should care, maybe he'll listen. And maybe the first one to complain won't be listened to much, but the second, the third, the fourth, the fifth, the hundredth. They add up. If you voted for Bush, and you don't communicate with him, you're letting us down. You're letting yourself down. You're letting down the thousands of displaced people. This is the time to step away from the comfort zone and really examine things. Decide. Decide if this is how you want your fellow countryman treated. And if it's not, let him know. Let that guy you respect so much know he's let you down and you sure as hell hope he's got the magic touch to fix it and make it all better. Because at the end of the day, he IS the President of the United States. And at the end of the day, I didn't place my vote of confidence with him but you did. The president needs to answer to his people. And those of you who voted for him, you have a responsibility too. It does not end with a simple casting of the ballot. That is only the beginning. Now is your chance. You want to help the victims? Fine. Make your donations. Send your cans. But also, let your voice be heard with your president. Demand action. Demand answers. Demand responsibility.

3 of you have had really deep thoughts
last * next
Waiting 4 Sadie - 2006-05-30
Do Over - 2006-05-02
An end and a beginning - 2006-04-22
Brain Bun - 2006-04-11
What Dreams May Come - 2006-04-04



The American Red Cross